A Bed Skirt

A bed skirt is basically a sheet with more sheet on the sides that hangs down and covers the box spring, the legs of the frame, or the skeletons boxed up underneath.

I found a gorgeous green bedspread  ages ago, and when I came out of retirement last year, I was desperate for work clothes. I couldn’t buy many because I hadn’t got paid yet, so I rooted around and decided to, ever so carefully, hack up that beautiful green fabric.

I wore it today and as you can see, the colour is fab and it has small diamondy details and stripes (my favourite) along the bottom. Since it is/was a bedspread, it was already hemmed, so I only had to cut along and then sew it together. Hips threw a spanner into my simple sewing idea, but I got there eventually. 

Because the fabric was old already, it is decidedly tired after 6 months of sitting on my ass on an office chair and occasionally being washed. Luckily I have the rest of the bedspread – it was at least a twin-size – to use for something else to replace it.

Paired with a pretty top from Banana-benders Republic and my new boss lady socks, it’s another sweet, vintage, repurposed, upcycled, Bob’s-your-uncle sewing adventure turned success, AKA, bed skirt.

Leave a Reply

